Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown!

charlie-brown-tree

I really wanted to buy a retro aluminum Christmas tree with a color wheel this year, but funds are low so I bought this one from Target.  In the picture, it looked like a bargain – a 4-foot pre-lit tinsel tree with full branches for only $20?  Too good to be true, right?  Right.  Because it ended up looking like this:

dscn0424

Before you say, “Hey that’s kinda cute!” here’s a photo of it in the harsh light of day:

dscn0426

I think we can all agree that it doesn’t look as nice and full as the Target photo, especially on the left side for some reason, but it did make for some good laughs when my aunt, my mom, and I were setting it up!  Even though I tried to doctor it up with a nice tree stand and some ornaments (most of my ornaments weighed the branches down because they were too heavy), it is definitely a Charlie Brown tree.  But hey, it’s kitsch, and I don’t have the room or the money for something awesome and lavish in my apartment.  Besides, it tries so hard to be a cute little tree that it makes me smile every time I look at it.  We should all learn a lesson from my little Christmas tree and try our very best in every situation, even if we’re out of our league.

One Response to Merry Christmas, Charlie Brown!

  1. Shannanigans says:

    I like it! I should get something like that so my cats dont try and climb it

Leave a comment