A Raw Update

DSCN0926

My Independence Day contribution to the family cookout was a raw dessert from Raw Food/Real World: Dark Chocolate Ganache Tart (pictured above) with Vanilla Cream (not pictured).  It was freaking amazing, and was a big hit with everyone.  I really love this recipe book.  It makes raw food look slick, hip, and NYC chic.  However, in order to accomplish this, most recipes take forever to prepare and call for ingredients that are either hella expensive, impossible to find, or aren’t truly raw.  (For example, the tart calls for cocoa powder and maple syrup – not raw!)  But I’ll let it slide because it’s all so delicious.  I’ve also made the Chewy Chocolate Freezer Fudge which was 50 times yummier than the Frozen Fudge from The Raw Truth.

I’m still trying to find a raw main course (other than a salad) that is appetizing to me.  All the “pasta” dishes call for strips of raw zucchini to stand in for noodles.  I’ve quickly learned that I don’t like to eat zucchini raw, so I’m currently auditioning other vegetables to play the part of my noodles.  Maybe mung sprouts – they are inexpensive, sturdy, neutral in taste, and don’t require any prep work such as peeling and julienne-ing.

4 Responses to A Raw Update

  1. JL says:

    oh, that looks good!!! wow that looks good.
    hehehehe (generally not a huge chocolate fan, but I think I changed my mind)

  2. JL says:

    now, do you always eat raw? or just now and then?

  3. andrearaimondi says:

    No, I don’t always eat raw. My goal is to be 100% raw at home (still working on it), but eat cooked food when I go out. I don’t want to be that person who always orders a salad at a restaurant!

  4. andrearaimondi says:

    You can substitute the cocoa powder for carob powder! Of course, it will still taste chocolaty.

Leave a Reply

