The Eleven Days of Christmas

My apartment has this retro milk box built into the wall next to my door:

It opens like so to reveal the milk bottles the milkman has left from the other side:

Only I don’t have milk delivered, so typically it goes unused.  Then my mom came up with the brilliant idea to leave me gifts inside!  This only happens once in awhile.  But between Thanksgiving and Christmas this year, she went crazy and left me eleven gifts.  I have dubbed them The Eleven Days of Christmas.

♫ On the first day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…a Terry’s dark chocolate orange.

♫ On the second day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…knee-high penguin socks.

♫ On the third day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…three French hen ornaments from Crate and Barrel.

♫ On the fourth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey.

♫ On the fifth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…a dark chocolate Choxie bar.

♫ On the sixth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…homemade oatmeal cookies.

♫ On the seventh day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…festive holiday tea towels.

♫ On the eighth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…adorable mushroom ornaments.

♫ On the ninth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…a cashmere turtleneck sweater.

♫ On the tenth day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…salt and pepper grinders.

♫ On the eleventh day of Christmas my mother gave to me…

…Santa Pez with a transparent head.

3 Responses to The Eleven Days of Christmas

  1. Mommie says:

    YOU are a great daughter! Love u beaucoup!
    Mommie

  2. Pammer says:

    Lucky girl! I love finding presents. You need to tell my mom about this….

  3. Shannanigans says:

    just read this…your mom is awesome! And I love the milk box thing, but it would be creepy if you opened it up and there was a face staring back at you. I would be afraid to open it

Leave a Reply

