McLenin’s

The Broadripple McDonald’s is the absolute worst McDonald’s I have ever been to, and I grew up in the 80’s with heroin needles in the ball pits.  You see, I’ve recently become obsessed with collecting the Alvin and the Chipmunks figures they are currently featuring in their Happy Meals, so I stopped by the Broadripple location on my way home from work this evening and left rather pissed.

First, a Mighty Kids meal costs a dollar more in Broadripple than at the location out yonder by the Wal-Mart I usually patron.  (And by usually, I mean once a year because I’m not that into fast food.)  Second, after I paid for my meal, they told me they were out of the Chipmunks, even though they still had the Chipmunks display out.  If I were a bitch, I would have said, “No problem, I’ll just take one of those!” and made them get me the display Alvin.  But I’m not a bitch, so I just made a frowny face that went unnoticed.  Then I had to ask for a beverage, even though it comes with the meal.  Like they’re trying to save money by scamming people out of what costs them literally pennies a person.  Next, I asked for the hot mustard sauce, McDonald’s only redeeming quality in my opinion.  They said they were out of hot mustard, even though I could clearly see one last hot mustard sauce in the back of the plastic bin!  Finally, they did not offer unsweetened iced tea at this location.  Diabetes only.

As I was driving home (which was a feat in and of itself, if you’ve ever tried to turn left out of that McDonald’s onto Broadripple Avenue during rush hour traffic), I thought back to Dr. Phil.  Now, normally I roll my eyes at Dr. Phil because he looks and acts like a walrus.  But yesterday when I went to get my oil changed, I was forced to watch his walrus antics on the television in the waiting room.  And he actually said something poignant.  Well to be fair, he quoted something poignant his dad used to say: “There’s something about that person that I don’t like in me.”

For whatever reason, that quote popped into my head at the precise moment my anger toward McDonald’s peaked, and I realized it wasn’t McDonald’s at whom I was pissed – it was myself.  I was pissed because I allowed myself to let a multi-billion dollar industry con me into thinking I needed something useless.  Once I realized this, I didn’t want that Alvin anymore.

So this evening when I arrived home, I put on one of my favorite t-shirts to sleep in that I bought at a thrift store for a quarter years ago.

One Response to McLenin’s

  1. Pam says:

    I got all excited at the beginning of your post because I didn’t know they had chipmunks at McDonald’s, and I was going to take off right now to walk over to Riley to get a happy meal, but by the end of the post, it was totally ruined for me. I blame Dr. Phil.

Leave a Reply

